New to the Forum, need help! MV-8800 or MPC5000

C. Barker

Hey guys Im an aspiring producer and in a few weeks I will be buying new equipment which I need help in deciding which one to use. It's between the MV-8800 and the MPC5000, I heard great things about the two and they are both in my price range. I did read the Just Blaze blog about him ranting on the MPC and how chopping up samples is hard to do but that aspect I can deal with, but at the sametime I heard a lot of good things about it as far as advancement. Both are in my price range so now I just need help choosing out of the two.

Also Im buying a new workstation too to go with either the MV or MPC, which one do you guys perfer. Here are my final 3:
Roland GW-8, Korg M50-61 or Yamaha M08.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thx in advance.

My best advice is stop reading and get to your local music store and demo both machines. You may find you hate them the same. I used to spend hours at Guitar Center.

Good luck.

Last edited:
mpc5000 has lots of known bugs. the mv-88 i used and the 5000 i used too. i prefer out of the 2 the mv-88. i have a korg m-50 88 key and i love her. i didnt like her at first cuz i didnt learn it. now i love her and would not give her up except for a m3. so naturally i will go with the m-50 the effects are good, lots of menus for editing and a touch screen.

@Cash - Thx man, I plan to hit up Guitar Center and Sam Ash this week to get personally know and use the two.

@Damayor - Yeah out of the 3 I was leaning towards the M-50. I seen a lot of videos and reviews and I like what im seeing. My main thing is to get the most realistic sounds and which one have the best sampling...which I can also use the MV or MPC for.

You may even think about going with an MPC2500 instead. Most stores still have MV's but they were recently discontinued. Hopefully that will work in your favor as far as pricing is concerned. That could free up cash for monitors if you don't already have any.