How to study djs

Tnelson2

i am a producer but i know learning the art of djing will help me alot, but i dont know who what when where to research or what can anyone help

The exact path that lead you to aspiring to or becoming a producer is what will lead you to understanding the world of DJing. I can tell you from first hand experience, there is no set formula, path, or technique that will streamline your career as a DJ. You can do whatever you want. The branding is what matters most, because at the end of the day, your a salesman who's selling a service.

If you have the equipment to do so, I would recommend finding a mix that you really like and trying to replicate it yourself. By approaching it this way, you have a point of reference. Try to make your mix sound as close to your point of reference as possible. This way you'll be able to understand why they blended here, cut there, etc in certain points.

As with anything in life, we learn by doing. The more mixes you can replicate and understand, the more tools you'll have in you toolbox. After a while you'll get a feel for which tool is best for a given situation.

Make sure you absorb all this info, because it is all true. As long as you are committed to learning the art you'll be fine. There's no substitution for experience, so the sooner you start the better.

Theres no substitute for practice. Like the guy above said, there are already to many crap dj's relying purely on software/hardware to tidy up their skills, its ridiculous.

what type of "DJ" are u trying to be? I Club DJ that plays top 40, skratch DJ or Turntablist, mixtape DJ. a service DJ that does garage parties, weddings, special events etc etc.

Skratch is a good documentary if you want to learn the history of the art of turntablism.

Id watch Skratchon 2000 and some mid releases of Turntable TV from the Invisibl Skratch Piklz that give u pointers on DJing like counting bars, when to throw in mixes, how to splyce etc etc.