How to Make pro psytrance bass line

psyviz

Hi i am fairly new to making psytrance. I know how to make and set the midi patterns for a psytrance bass line, but i am having a problem getting the right sound? I have tried various VST plug ins Albino,muono tau pro,Alien 303, vb1 ,Sylenth1 etc.. , Now i am using G-Sonique renegade which is good because it came with a audio sample of a psytrance bass line, but i cant seem to make one identical

I attached a sample to this post

So if someone can help me make a bass line like the sample i will appreciate it very much.

I am also trying to figuer out which oscillators to use "Sine, W.Sine, Ab.Sine, An.Saw, D.Saw, Saw HB, Saw DB,VNT Saw, An.Ramp, D.Ramp, D.Square, PWM Pulse, Triangle, Square, Noise??"

Thanks kind regards Psyviz

Last edited:
That's psy alright - I take it that is the demo from the software?

The actual waveform is not as important as the envelope of the sound and the gate length (although sines are not much good for psy bass).

You want a short envelope with 0 sustain. Sequence straight 16ths. Throw in a few 'odd' notes at the end of each couple of bars (or anywhere else - psy isn't as structured as techno for example). Play with the attack and decay of the sound until it sits right in the track. Also, try moving the notes around a TINY bit, so it's not quite a straight quantized pattern. Finally, turn the sustain up on the odd note here and there to create that 'drift' effect. And don't forget to filter!!!

Thanks VexaDJ for the fast reply. Yes the demo song is from the synth manufacture. All the information i can get is greatly appreciated :) I will give your tips a try. also when you refer to the gate length what is that? my synths don't have a gate control? and what synth do you use?

I look forward to here from you. peace

Last edited:
Sorry, that last tip should say 'release', not 'sustain' (to get a drift effect).