How to construct an R&B song?

mmaqtin

Okey so I'm new to this R&B thing and I need some help from wiser folks.
I've been doing popmusic for a while and I have a feel of how to construct my songs, but for the most R&B songs are not really the same.
What I would like is if someone could explain a bit what signifies an R&B song, like the beat. Should I layer kicks? Use "analog" claps or human recorded?
What about high hats?
Instruments? Acoustic guitars etc etc.

I just want someone to give me just an idea of the formula for a good hit R&B song.
I've analyzed some of StarGates work but I need someone to help me with the formula of any given R&B beat.

Thanks in advance!

r&b is about the melody always start there. its more about individual expression.
its not a specific set of sounds or tempo to analyze you actually need talent for this.
r&b can sound like any genre of music so just start out by mimicking what you like until you develop your own expression.

Okey so I'm new to this R&B thing and I need some help from wiser folks.
I've been doing popmusic for a while and I have a feel of how to construct my songs, but for the most R&B songs are not really the same.
What I would like is if someone could explain a bit what signifies an R&B song, like the beat. Should I layer kicks? Use "analog" claps or human recorded?
What about high hats?
Instruments? Acoustic guitars etc etc.

I just want someone to give me just an idea of the formula for a good hit R&B song.
I've analyzed some of StarGates work but I need someone to help me with the formula of any given R&B beat.

Thanks in advance!