How many hours do you spend to make a beat?

You FINISH a beat from start to finish in 20 mins to an hour?
Id like to hear one..

I easily put 40-50+ hours into one. Thats almost a minimum. But I'm still learning too.

Last edited:
Id like to hear one..

I easily put 40-50+ hours into one. Thats almost a minimum. But I'm still learning too.
Thats quite a bit man. I usually average around four hours for core arrangement, about an hour of touchups, and an hour for mixing. Most of my beats are mixed pretty bad, but im getting better.

it depend by what you mean when saying "make a beat", cause i could sell a beat not properly mixed, the beat is done, but I haven't mixed it right ..

Thats quite a bit man. I usually average around four hours for core arrangement, about an hour of touchups, and an hour for mixing. Most of my beats are mixed pretty bad, but im getting better.

Im picky.

And 'beat' is so subjective these days. I could make a 'beat' in 20 minutes. I don't consider my work beats though, I try to make them full compositions, like a song.. To me a 'beat' is just that, a beat..its not a song. If it doesnt change rhythms and take me on a musical 'journey' I don't want anything to do with it. I listen to too many 'beats' now a days on peoples sound clouds that are honestly just BORING BORING BORING loops over and over. Adding in a hat or something to change arrangement sections just doesnt cut it for me..

Last edited:
I could easily spend way more than 100 hours into making a fully completed track.

Yah i haven't actually finished mixing and mastering a lot of my stuff either so by the time I am done 100 hours would be pretty reasonable. Everything I'm referring to has been a school project/song thats only a few minutes long. If I didnt have a deadline i could easily break 100 hours on a song. Lots of my time spent is experimenting with different things though.

Last edited: