First Timer Advice

KevinG24

KevinG
Hey guys I don't really know how to work this forum thing because this is the first forum website I've ever created an account for. My name is Kevin and I'm turning 19 years old this November. I'm new to this and I feel like I'll be using these forums for a very long time since music is my passion and it's all I ever think about throughout the day. I've also read a lot of the beginner forums here and I've picked up A LOT of helpful tips from them, and some of the information I kinda already new too. I've looked at hundreds, literally, HUNDREDS of interviews of my favorite producers and rappers and I'm pretty good at flowing on beats, and my lyrics aren't terrible. I started rapping about 3 years ago for fun just making funny rhymes during rap battles at school with my friends and stuff. But people have told me that I should really consider doing it seriously. So just this year I started putting out music to the public, but I was basically just rapping over popular hip hop instrumentals. First of all, the production for the music is definitely not the best. I could've edited my vocals way better but I wanted to put my music out so fast, so I rushed it and it kinda sounds mediocre to be honest. So once I realized that rapping over beats won't cut it for too long, I decided to grab all of my brother's production gear (monitors, MIDI's, Beat Pad, microphone) and I started trying to produce my own sound. This was in early September, so for the first month, I was watching a ton of tutorials, and I played with the sounds on Logic Pro X and made basic beats. But over the past 2 months, I feel like my beats aren't that bad! I've been making some beats from scratch and others by sampling. My friends think the beats are pretty good for a beginner as well! However, their opinions could be somewhat biased because they are my friends and they support me in whatever I do. But even my brother, who has over a year of experience in making beats, s