F*ck Software

Doc Da Suess

8 Years Experience
I've had some students ask me what gear they should get.

How many people here would recommend getting an MPC in this day and age?

I have one (of course) and I've been using MPC's since 2004. But it seems that software setups 5 years later have become much more simpler and cheaper to use. As much as I love my mpc and I kill on it, I'm starting to see the light of software, which pains me cuz I hate the workflow. To make matters worse, it even looks like AKAI/NUMARK won't be making additions to the MPC line or anything, probably abandoning most support in the future.

So... I ask you: is the mpc an overrated piece of metal?
Would you recommend this to newbies... frankly, i'm having a hard time convincing myself I should be.

---------- Post added at 01:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:53 PM ----------

NOTE: There have been a million debates on this, but I'm asking what should I (ME, DOC, MYSELF, I) should recommend to my students

I think its good to have both hardware and software. Use both the MPC and software together. I still use my VSTi's as instruments. Beats having a room full of Keyboards and Synths. And its good to use computer for storage too!
That way you can have that hands on feeling of using the MP and the power of software!

Just my .02

I think its good to have both hardware and software. Use both the MPC and software together. I still use my VSTi's as instruments. Beats having a room full of Keyboards and Synths. And its good to use computer for storage too!
That way you can have that hands on feeling of using the MP and the power of software!

Just my .02