Could somebody please elaborate what Compressors & Limiters actually do?

Nibblez

I should really know what these do considering I've been learning to produce for a few years now... but what are they and how would you use them?

I wrote this on another thread.

"
I'll try to explain how a compressor works mathematically because words change person to person, language to language, but math is universal.

Lets say you have the following unit-less values representing the volume intensity of a track at a certain point, taken at 5 different times.

The mean of these numbers is
The standard deviation is: (standard deviation is the square root of variance which is the square of the difference between each value and the average over the average)

Now if we were to apply a compressor with the following setting:
-threshold 7
-ratio 4
This is what would happen

- (7) <- This would be your threshold. We want only values that are above the threshold to be affected.

________
4 <- This would be your ratio

=1.25,0,0.5,1,1.33

+ (7) <- Here we add back the threshold value that we originally subtracted

After the compressor has done it's main work this is what you'd be left with for your new volumes:

The mean of these new numbers is:

Therefore we will increase the output gain by 2 so we have the same mean as the original.
+ 2

Our final values are:

now if we take the standard deviation of these new numbers we will get:
Which is less than the initial S.D of 4.1 meaning that the difference between individual values is now far less.
The higher the ratio, the smaller the standard deviation becomes.

Math is everywhere.
"

Originally posted in: https://www.futureproducers.com/for...nd-what-compressors-do-465378/2/#post49761874

A limiter is a compressor with a ratio between 10 and infinity, most commonly you will find brickwall limiters and they have a ratio of infinity.

Last edited: