You've all been here...

Casbeatz

Producer/Engineer
I am a newbie producer, who wants to become a newbie DJ. My budget is around 500 for everything involved. I will be doing all of this at home(for now), in my studio. Plan on getting Traktor Pro as my software, but other than that, What all do I need?

I do have Maschine, already, fyi

Obviously, I would want to take this mobile if need be. I currently have a presonus audiobox usb that i have a mic, and a pair of monitors hooked up to. So I wasn't sure if I needed a soundcard for the dj controller or not.

So basically what I'm asking is, what do I need to get everything working at home? Can I just plug a controller in via usb, and that's it? Or, is there more involved? And if i already have my presonus hooked up, will connecting the dj controller via usb allow me to get sound through the monitors? Or do i need to hook the monitors directly to the dj controller?

Lol, this stuff is confusing...

---------- Post added 10-25-2011 at 05:29 AM ---------- Previous post was 10-23-2011 at 08:41 PM ----------

Ended up ordering a Numark Mixtrack, non-pro version. Already have a presonus audiobox, so there was no need for another sound card. No thanks to any of you 65 people who viewed this post and didn't bother to comment on it...

Last edited:
Wow, I hadnt even been online since you initially posted. And a lot of those views would not have been from registered members. I looked at the Mixtrack but decided against it - let us know how it is.

Numark Mixtrack is a toy I definitely would not have suggested that. depends on how serious you want to be as a DJ. but to learn and develop the skill it aint going to happen on the Numark Mixtrack. Sorry I wish I seen your post earlier.

Hey fellas, yeah, went with the mixtrack mainly because of the price. I just recently got Traktor Scratch Pro 2, and wanted a simple controller to use. For a hundred bucks, I can't really ask for much lol