use mpk25 and fl 9...lookin to start scratching in my beats...

36 chamber music

what up fp, i use an mpk25, fl 9, a tascam 144 interface, along with windows xp and a few other things...my question is how do i go about scratching in my songs? do i need to get a usb dj controller, an actual usb turntable, etc?

what do u guys think is the best route to go upon scratching in the hooks of my songs...i have searched a lot on google and fp but i just cant seem to find the right answer. Ive tried scratching a bit using the fruity scratcher (that thing f''ckin blows!!!) and using the wavetraveller, i honestly think its lame to be making scratching noises without actually SCRATCHING!

I need help, thanks fp!

oh yeah another thing...im open to scratching using mp3's or actual vinyl, which ever way is better for a beginner...ive been making beats for about 3 months but never really scratched before...thanks!

---------- Post added at 08:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:21 AM ----------

my bad i just found a good thread a few minutes ago...im open for responses though...

have you ever used a turntable and mixer before? to have a feel for it is better then turning a knob and some sliders. i'm not knocking you, just planting a seed.

have you ever used a turntable and mixer before? to have a feel for it is better then turning a knob and some sliders. i'm not knocking you, just planting a seed.

Did u not read my post? I specifically said that I hate using the "fruity scratcher" and the wavetreveller...this is the exact reason I want a turntable, it's more organic.

I have never scratched nor sampled with a turntable (all my beats r sample based but all mp3 to wav samples). I would really like to get a turntable for sampling/scratching puposes within a year...any suggestions???

u can find some techs on craigs for a decent price. When it comes to a mixer think simple, but not cheap.

Last edited: