Thoughts on komplete 8 ultimate and maschine

P

paddybear

I've come across a maschine mk1 with komplete 8 ultimate recently, and was just wondering what people's thoughts were on the two, and how much you think is a reasonable price to pay for the two. I produce only with ableton and a midi keyboard currently, been doing that for a while, and was wondering what kind of difference a pad controller might make, and whether or not it is possible to use maschine as a controller for ableton.

Any thoughts at all on anything would be great

thanks

I have no experience with Maschine, but I did see some threads where people talked about returning it or selling it off after a couple months.

As for Komplete 8 Ultimate - that's a very nice bundle. Typical price is around $1,000. You can get a lesser version for $500.

If you use Live imo there is no reason to get Maschine. I think Maschine is cool but its almost a DAW itself even though it can run as a vst inside of your host its almost like rewiring Reason to another program. If you plan on producing with Live and having Maschine it will just become another pad controller I bet and for that I think a MPD is a better option with the pad fix. Komplete Ultimate however offers a ton of variety with quality instruments. Depending on what you already have it may or may not be overkill. Hell I think in many ways its over kill anyway. I still plan on buying Komplete though because I am a gear slut