Staying in time with your chops

HalfBlacko0000

Good Music
Hey guys the other night I was sampling a song I picked out the parts that I liked chopped them up into equal parts it had alot of vocals in the sample but when I went to play my chops back it was not ending on the 5th bar or 4 bar loop I noticed that the vocals kinda had a delay before the kick like she would start singing before the kick drum now in order for shit to work dont I have to chop at the kick or snare? Im still really new to sampling and I know theres 100 ways you can do it but I just want my shit to be on time so it starts and ends at the end of a bar so when I lay my drums over the sample it fits I hope you guys understand what I mean.

To get even chops it's easier to start with a clean loop than trying to freehand chop something. I don't know if you are chopping a loop or a one shot but here's my advice (based on loops).Try to tap your feet as the sample plays and count out the beats in sync with the sample. A 4-count will work to keep it simple. When you get to the 1 again that's where you want to loop it obviously. But, the count and foot tapping serves a few purposes. It's also a good way to keep time just in case the melody or the drums cut out so that you are not depending on hearing drum sounds to make a loop. You are keeping the time. Also, you will be able to detect changes in timing. Sometimes a loop will sound so right but you won't be able to work it, only to find out its in a different time signature. I apologize if I didn't answer your question or if you knew that already. You'd be surprised how many people aspire to make music and never learn the importance of tapping their feet and counting.

Yea I understand counting I guess I should pick my loop points more carefully I think I was so worried about getting the vocals I wanted that I wasnt chopping on the 1st beat