Renting Studios

JMD_Music

I was just browsing Craigslist and saw some recording studios for rent. Not being a producer, I don't know how this works, but has anybody ever been to a writing camp? Or been flown out to a location to spend time in the studio producing and writing with another artist.

I was just browsing Craigslist and saw some recording studios for rent. Not being a producer, I don't know how this works, but has anybody ever been to a writing camp? Or been flown out to a location to spend time in the studio producing and writing with another artist.

Yes. What do you want to know?

Just wondering how all that works. Something I'm considering doing. Does renting a studio lower production costs instead of just sending them to a studio owned by an engineer where you just reserve and rent hours?

Just wondering how all that works. Something I'm considering doing. Does renting a studio lower production costs instead of just sending them to a studio owned by an engineer where you just reserve and rent hours?

The studio's that I've been in, you can rent the studio, but you have to supply your own engineer. And if you don't know how to run the equipment, you gotta rent their engineer for the session.

Separate costs for the studio space, and for the engineer.

What's your purpose for wanting to rent a studio?

What's your purpose for wanting to rent a studio?

I just noticed that labels do that a lot. They pay to rent the studio then pay extra for the engineer instead of just using an engineer that already owns a studio.
As a producer, if someone pays for your studio time and gives you 24/7 availability to the studio, and you produce and write songs to the album with the artist there (which I think is always best), are you gonna charge the normal amount you would per song?

I just noticed that labels do that a lot. They pay to rent the studio then pay extra for the engineer instead of just using an engineer that already owns a studio.