Proper Final Mix-Down Procedures

FineTunedAudio

So, your track/album is finished and you're ready to send it out for mastering, or are you...?

Hello, I am an independent recording/performing artist, producer, label CEO and sound engineer. Here are the proper steps for exporting your final mix-down. Be sure to keep your eyes open for my posts, as I will soon be adding weekly installments on the art of mastering.

But before we can master, we must mix!!!

1. You should have NO effects on your master buss. No limiter, no compressor, nothing. You want your track as raw as possible to allow your sound engineer to have a maximum dynamic range to work with.

2. When exporting your final mix-down, no single channel should be peaking above -20db. The best way to do this is turn each channel you're using all the way down. Go to your main track (i.e. your beat) and slowly turn the volume up until it is peaking no higher than -20db. repeat the same process for each channel using your ear to be sure that each channel is not peaking above -20db and is at a proper volume in relation to the other elements of your track. (i.e. your b/g vocals should not be peaking at the same volume as your primary verse vocals.) Once you have properly leveled each channel so that it is not peaking above -20db and is properly mixed with the other elements of your tracks, you are ready to export your mixdown.