Pads and Leads

laela

Hi, I'm new to FP and I couldn't find this question on the site so I'm just going to go ahead and ask if anyone can explain to a noob like myself what is a pad and a lead??
From listening to youtube vids leads seem to be the loud main melody parts of a song whereas pads seem softer and on a lower frequency range,,,am i far off??

No you're not.

Leads play melodies, and are the main instrument on a song (if the song has no vocals), or play a secondary role to the vocals. Keep in mind that this isn't a rule of thumb, as the lead role on a song depends on what genre the song is (on drum and bass, for example, the bass and drums are the leading instruments).

The pads are normally used as a ambiance, to give another supporting ground to the other instruments, and are directly related to the mood of the song.

As stated above.
Also, leads are typically played with only 1 note at a time (maybe a 2nd note to enhance the performance sometimes, but mainly 1 note), while pads are mostly made out of chords.

As stated above.
Also, leads are typically played with only 1 note at a time (maybe a 2nd note to enhance the performance sometimes, but mainly 1 note), while pads are mostly made out of chords.
You can clearly listen to a "two note lead" on almost every hardstyle track. In fact, there are mostly three notes: two of them on different octaves, normally the first note on the upper octave, and on beat, and the second note on a octave below, and offbeat. They are used as basslines to give support to a third note (or notes) being played an octave up of the first note I said, which is properly doing the lead.

to extend the answer slightly a pad is a sound type that is usually used with a musical line that is based on outlining the chord movement.

It may use all of the chord tones or just an outline of the chord usually the root and 5th and octave, sometimes just the root and octave.