Opinions on Hip Hop/Rap using EDM (electronic dance music) in their beats?

xermane

I am Xermane, a dubstep producer from NYC. I have noticed that a lot of rappers have been using a lot of electronic influences and doing collabs with Electronic producers (David Guetta, LMFAO, Skrillex etc.) I personally like it, being a edm producer myself. What do you guys think?
I also made a Dubstep track including Rappers. Youtube this to find the track... Xermane-Hooked On Shocka,
Let me know what you think?

Whats good Im Majestic, I stay down towards miami. Me personally I have always loved to hear electro or dubstep fused with hiphop. I like it because I love both hip hop and music in general. I always said I need that one good electro song, for the clubs down here. Miami is a gold mine for electronic music. My homey took me to a house club down here many have heard of it called Space. I got there about 2 or 3 I almost fell asleep, They don't close till noon. It looks way different when you see people at 11 am leaving from a club.

As much as I love electronic music and hip-hop, this music is a no go for me. Big budget production with a pop-dance beat just isn't hip-hop to me. I grew up on 90's stuff produced by guys like K-Def, Marley Marl, Nick Wiz, El-P, Havoc, and Rza. I'm 27 but I guess I'm just too old-fashioned for this.

I am digging the hip-hop/dubstep fusion though. Your track especially since it has that real underground feel. As long as dudes don't let it get so poppy sounding this will be a dope scene.

Last edited:
Its fine to fuse genres, but I just hate it when everybody jumps the bandwagon.