Omg Is This Some Kind of Joke: Propellerhead Reason 7

Majestic Mastermind

Eat, Sleep, Breathe MUSIC
I've been using Reason 5 since like 2010. Loved it's workflow and modular environment, and rack. I thought Reason 7 would be kool since it had rack extensions, integrated recycle, midi out, etc. So I went and tried out the demo and oh man what a ugly sight.

That new SSL Mixer console takes up almost HALF of the entire screen. Not only that but you literally have to scroll around to see different parts of the mixer..even with most of it folded down. The rack is now extra cluttered with mix channels.

Coming from Reason 5 this seemed like a major workflow killer. The entire program feels like it was made for a widescreen t.v. or something.

What you think about Reason 7's workflow?

Last edited:
what you complain about has been part of record since the same time as reason 5 and part of reason itself since reason 6

yes it is designed for a different viewing environment but it really is not a big deal other than getting used to the extra bits of manipulating the screen views.

don't forget (or maybe this is news) that you can detach the mixer and the rack so that you can have three different views of the software that you can cycle between sequencer/rack/mixer

haven't got to 7 as yet - don't have the computer power to cope right now and reason 6.5 is doing just fine for what I need it for......, but once I get my next gen computer will be buying this as a matter of course......

Yeah. It's better if you detach and maximize each of the windows and use F5, F6, and F7. to switch between them.

I have a bunch of monitors, though, so I just give each section its own monitor:
Rack gets the left monitor. Sequencer gets the middle monitor. Mixer gets the right monitor. Tools window and EQ window get the top monitor.

There are some things that are fun to do in Reason, and some things that are a PITA.

-Ki
Salem Beats