Native Instruments Maschine EDU vs Studio versions

Ninjazz

The Native Instruments Maschine is a bit out of my range of affordability but I noticed that there is an Educational/Academic version which, as I am a student studying audio engineering and recording, I would be eligible for. Here's my questions:

What's the procedure if I someday want to use it to produce a track and that track subsequently earns me money? How would anyone know if the track I made using Maschine was done on an Academic or Studio license? Don't see how. At any rate, would there be a small upgrade fee to upgrade the license? Frankly I coudl just use profits to buy a new Maschine but...Chicken & egg scenario.

If I bought an Academic version listed as 1.6 can I upgrade to 1.7 or otherwise latest version for free?

Thanks

You are looking too deep into it. The academic version will just keep you from being able to take part in some paid upgrades in the future.

There is also a guy on this forum that works with NI if I am correct. Locate the right Maschine thread and you will find him. He can probably answer some of you questions about the Academic version.

Last edited:
Hey thanks for getting back to me. Most of my cash goes to school so any dollar I can save helps. What are considered paid updates? Like version 1.6 to 1.7 or like 1.x to 2.x?

Cheers

Last edited:
Hey thanks for getting back to me. Most of my cash goes to school so any dollar I can save helps. What are considered paid updates? Like version 1.6 to 1.7 or like 1.x to 2.x?

Cheers

There have been zero paid updates for Maschine thus far, and there might never be any.