Music Industry major

Lkoz91

So I'm a freshman at Drexel University and my major was business undeclared. I really couldn't get into it and I was rejected from the music industry major before because of how competitive it is to get into it. However, I emailed the head of the department and got a call yesterday at lunch to go meet with him at 2 30. Turns out that someone dropped out and I got their spot! So now I'm a music industry major and finally learning about what I truly have a passion for. I'm so happy. I go to class and am eager to learn for the first time.....ever.

Just thought I'd share that here.

Thanks guys, appreciate it. I also just got my MPC1000 off of ebay. It's pretty banged up and needs new pads cuz the 3rd one hardly works. Anyone know how much they go for and where I can get them?

I looked it up on their website, because at first it sounded odd "Music Industry Major" but after reading it, it sounds, odd. I don't know, I mean they don't really focus on one area, Here's text form the Drexel site:

"About the curriculum
The music industry curriculum is divided into four areas which are combined with co-operative experience: general education, music core, music industry core requirements, and concentration requirements.

In an industry where the process of career building often begins with a few key contacts, the co-operative education program provides Drexel students the chance to begin meeting people and networking. The program prepares students for employment in the music industry in such diverse positions as recording engineer, sound engineer, sound designer, music lawyer, business manager, personal manager, and music publisher. By working in various aspects of the industry, the co-op experience involves two three-month periods of full-time career-related employment, where students gain valuable insight into how the entertainment industry works.

About the concentrations