MPC500 or Reason?

northernChill

So I'm stuck and don't know which one to get. I have used the Reason 4.0 demo before and liked it, and also I'm a student so I can get the discounted version. But I have been talking to a guy on craigslist, and i can get an MPC500 for $350. I have never tried an MPC but all my favourite producers use the MPC series, and i play drums so i like the feel of hardware aposed to software. Any input? Thanks
-Brad

i would just get reason. i've tried the MPC500 and it was hard. You can do more with software anyway. just get reason and a midi controller like MPD or PadKontrol. But you should try for yourself,, just go to guitar center.they should have demo drum machines you can try out. they're expensive to buy from but i just go there to mess with the stuff :P

So I'm stuck and don't know which one to get. I have used the Reason 4.0 demo before and liked it, and also I'm a student so I can get the discounted version. But I have been talking to a guy on craigslist, and i can get an MPC500 for $350. I have never tried an MPC but all my favourite producers use the MPC series, and i play drums so i like the feel of hardware aposed to software. Any input? Thanks
-Brad
None of you fav producers use the 500 aka Akai's little toy.

None of you fav producers use the 500 aka Akai's little toy.

LoL. True. Even as a MPC user I strongly suggest going with Reason. You are more likely to get more bang for your buck with Reason as opposed to a MPC500. Especially since there is an upgrade coming soon for Reason.

Is the 500 useless?