Mbox 2 vs Mbox 3 mini vs Saffire Pro6 vs Saffire Pro 24

sinuspain

Hi,
I know there are plenty of these comparison threads out there, but haven't seen these compared.

I am pretty new to recording, help is appreciated. I am looking to use ableton live 8.

My friend has the mbox 2 and will hook me up with it for $100, but doesn't include pro tools.

I could prob get the mbox 3 mini used for around $200. Don't know too much but know its got some pretty big changes from the 2s.

Or I could get the pro6 new for $200 or pro24 used for $200.

Thanks

The saffire series is better than the Mbox IMO, and with pro tools 9, you don't have to worry about which DAW you will use with the interface.

The Pro 24 is actually out of the picture cause it has firewire. Btw, I'm pretty sure none of the saffire interfaces come with protools...

I get regular glitches/white noise from my mbox 3 mini! I'm not sure whether it's because of my laptop or the ASIO drivers, but it annoys the heck outta me.

Yeah it doesn't. But I don't plan on really using pro tools since I have ableton and will prob stick to that for recording and mostly everything.

Don't have firewire on my pc.

Thx

I would just get a firewire card, but if you don't want to go for the saffire pro6 or mbox3. Mbox 2 are not good compared to other products in their price range. Mbox 3 is better, though I would still get focusrite over mbox any day.

I would just get a firewire card, but if you don't want to go for the saffire pro6 or mbox3. Mbox 2 are not good compared to other products in their price range. Mbox 3 is better, though I would still get focusrite over mbox any day.

The new Mbox use the same chipset as the Apogee Duet so they are great.

I definitely wouldn't get the saffire. If you only have USB the Focusrite Scarlett is the way to go.

The new Mbox use the same chipset as the Apogee Duet so they are great.

I definitely wouldn't get the saffire. If you only have USB the Focusrite Scarlett is the way to go.