Kick and 808 Drum programming

wavygrvy

Hey FP, I'm a new producer (been producing for about 1 and half years), my problem is that when I program my Kicks and 808s it often gets messy for me. I mainly make hip hop and trap. I try to give the kick and 808 a bounce feel, I dont put the kick every time the 808 hits i add a kick here and there to give it some bounce, but most of the time i do this it does not sound right. Can someone give me suggestions or tips on how to make the kick and 808 gel together like a boxer throwing the 1-2 punches. I spent a lot of time finding the right kicks and 808s that went together but most of the time i dont nail it.

I started taking 808s with kicks in the beginning, and just making 2 copies, one for 808 and one for the kick, and i try to give the kick/808 more bounce by adding a kick or 808 at different parts that give it a bounce feel. what am i missing here? i know there are a lot of mixing techniques like side chaining to make it gel together but i guess my question is more for the drum programming area. I watched Metro Boomin's video on how to do this but it seems like he made it easier than it really is lol can someone help me out?

I don't know if this helps, but, BoB, or 8o8, has the potency to come in a certain key.
The slower you replay it, the lower the tone.

As a drummer I know for a fact, drums doesn't only have presence, they have pitch just as much as any other instrument.
Maybe you can play around and make the kick and the BoB play an arpeggio style (I love arp on my synth) chord, a minor if you like.
I guess that sounds richer and if you push it into chord progression...
Man you will have a funky bass-line that drive people wild.
and play around with ADSR on both, modulated.
Am I giving you hint to a great tracks...?
I guess so!