Izotope Ozone 4 Mastering Issue... Why is my original mix louder?

Ziti

Okay y'all I'm pretty new to this forum, but I do not feel that I am new to mixing music. I don't think you can be a a master at mastering, unless you went to school for it (no pun intended). However, I have read a good bit about it. Well I have been using Izotope Ozone 4 and I really liked the youtube videos created by "Dj Vespers" and "fordeetv", they seemed kinda simple. However I am very confused as the first song I used tried to master came out lower than the original mix. Ok, Just to start i lowered the mix to -6db. Then I took it in to the Ozone 4 program. The song is actually a freestyle over 2pacs Temptation ... So I used the matching eq feature. I have included some screenshots, can someone tell me where I went wrong? I used the Ozone 4 features I understand; Eq,Reverb and Maximizer/Limiter.Original Mix (Clipping at -0.2 decibels) via Izotope Ozone 4. Will send the link directly if anyone wants to hear!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.33.41 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.33.41 PM.png
    308.5 KB · Views: 382
  • Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.33.59 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.33.59 PM.png
    294.8 KB · Views: 67
  • Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.34.08 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 7.34.08 PM.png
    292.6 KB · Views: 148
I don't use Izotope, but it the output is set to -15dbfs, then that might mean you lowered the max peak to -15dbfs. So, that's probably why it sounds lower. If you got your mix to -6 dbfs by turning down the master fader, that's the other part of the problem.

I don't use Izotope, but it the output is set to -15dbfs, then that might mean you lowered the max peak to -15dbfs. So, that's probably why it sounds lower. If you got your mix to -6 dbfs by turning down the master fader, that's the other part of the problem.