Is turntablism dead?

Chaotic

Its not and never will be to me, but I came up in turntablisms hayday. But i was in guitar center recently and noticed the lack of real 12" turntables, battle style mixers, etc. Its seems that kids these days are all about midi controllers and fx.

Id like to hear from some of you guys, under the age of 25. How important is turntablism to you? How much exposure have you had to it?

dude ive DJd one time in my entire life, im a producer mostly. but man, ide love to have a set of technics 1200s over any cd decks or anything else! turntablism isnt dead, come to greensboro nc dude! we got all types of styles, perspectives and creative styles to suit anyone. but hell nah turntablism isnt dead. haha! shit i even use an old vintage technics to get my samples from my vinyl collection. guitar center is all about the latest trends and yada yada, there about money bro, if you request what you really want and that be a set of technics 1200s, im sure theyll get em for you or anything else really.

i know guitar center can get any gear you want. but i think the fact that they dont stock turntablism related items, is just another sign that the popularity of the art is fading away. DMC battles have gotten smaller and smaller each year. Technics doesnt even make turntables anymore!!

With all the new advances in DJ technology, like serato, traktor, dicers, and other controllers, i thought it would really take turntablism to another level. But it seems like its doing the opposite.

Found an interesting interview with Cut Chemist and heres his take on Turntablism being dead.