I'm afraid of being robbed!

BruceWillThis

I'm somewhat of an introvert and I've been making pop beats for 4 years but only a few people have heard my stuff. Last year I started to realize that I was stunting my development by not getting feedback. In the past, if I knew someone was going to listen to my tracks, I would push myself harder to be more polished.

Recently, I became more outgoing and developed a few friendships with a couple producers over the Internet. I started trading beats/tips with this particular dude (let's call him John). John normally gives me detailed evaluations about my beats including the mix, development, transitions etc. John also sends me his tracks and I try to return the favor.

Anyway, this was going well and I became way more productive and polished as a result of these exchanges. However, last week I sent him a beat and he remade the entire beat!

Since then I haven't been able to shake the thought that he could easily remake my beat and call it his own. My beats are not registered because it would be too expensive to register a copyright for every single beat as soon as I make them. Besides most times, I create the beat then email him immediately after rendering because I want/like quick feedback. I'm not concerned with him stealing my old stuff but since I'm pushing myself to be more unique lately, I'm worried about sending him stuff in the future.

To make things even worse, I started writing/singing hooks for every beat I make and I desperately need some feedback on them. I'm too embarrassed to send my beats+hooks to my non-producer friends/relatives because they will most likely think the lyrics are about me or my life. Also, they will judge the song based my singing ability even if I tell them that a real demo singer will redo the vocals.

I'm not ready to start shopping my tracks because I don't think my stuff is unique enough yet. My goal for this year (2012) is to develop my own sound.