How to progress?

Vera-BRW

Hey guys,

I've been making music for about 10 months or so, but I hit a sort of brick wall at like 45 followers..
My songs all tend to get a similar amount of plays (between 100 and 400) and never really go beyond there.

My brother makes music and so does his best friend (they convinced me to start too), we're a very musical family (even my parents are in a band
tongue.gif
)
so I often ask his friends for tips on breaking the ice with regards to that stuff (you may recognize ORACLES and his other friend Attom), but they just said try to promote your tracks and stuff, cause they thought my music was already cool. So I said okay then I tried that. I didn't get very far. I'm here now. What advice do you guys have?...

PS: as a side note, you can listen to my music and if you think it's crap and that's the reason I hit the wall I did then PLEASE tell me my music is bad, otherwise I'm just gonna sit here scratching my head over something that's obvious from a distance that no one was up front enough to tell me. If it's bad I need to know XD

- Vera

Last edited:
Well, first and foremost, 10 months just isn't a very long time. I've used this example many times, but if someone says he or she has been playing, say, the guitar for less than a year - you probably don't expect much. Why would it be different with this especially when you're trying to master multiple technical, artistic and theoretical skills at the same time? The internet also skews people's expectations in strange ways...I mean, when I first started dabbling with my own music, getting 50 people to even hear that stuff would've been some kind of an accomplishment. Nowadays it's of course not much (and I'm not saying you should settle for what you've got) but still...I don't think 400 plays is bad at all, in this world oversaturated by mediocre music.