How do Upcoming Music Producers make any worthwhile money?

varun213

I've been producing hip hop music for almost 9 years now and still cant figure out how can I make worthwhile money in this? how do the bigger producers do it?

Royalties are worthless unless you're a part of an album that sells a ton. Soundclick will force you to make a generic sound of beats and most wont pay more than 10$ for a beat.

I Know rappers have a more clear cut path if their music is succesful they can tour and sell merchandise and hustle that. But the music producers are left out and broke unless they DJ at shows I think. Because from all the rappers that have a name they will NEVER buy a beat from an upcoming producer. Everything is expected to be free lol

I've been producing hip hop music for almost 9 years now and still cant figure out how can I make worthwhile money in this? how do the bigger producers do it?

Royalties are worthless unless you're a part of an album that sells a ton. Soundclick will force you to make a generic sound of beats and most wont pay more than 10$ for a beat.

I Know rappers have a more clear cut path if their music is succesful they can tour and sell merchandise and hustle that. But the music producers are left out and broke unless they DJ at shows I think. Because from all the rappers that have a name they will NEVER buy a beat from an upcoming producer. Everything is expected to be free lol

This wasn't a concern when you were pirating music.
Not just saying "you" specifically, but its funny how the game got fucked up by the expectation of free music and the accessibility of technology as a right, but people do not fully understand the consequences of this until they want/need to profit off music.
Just be a hobbyist and wait for your golden ticket, because that's all there is.