How do I start out as a dj?

Teen Fury

I have no knowledge of dj'ing so I'm a noob. What are the basics and what gear do I need as beginning dj? Thanx in advance!

Well you need decks and a mixer to start, obviously. Call me old school, but I would definitely look at getting a pair of Technics 1200s. You can probably find some used ones just to get started for a reasonable price. Mixers range in price but a decent beginner mixer shouldn't be more than a bill.

Then obviously you need vinyl. Save the digital stuff until you are comfortable with vinyl. A lot depends on the style you wish to mix. If you are gonna mix house, trance, electronic stuff, your focus is gonna be primarily on beatmatching and programming your sets.

If you're more into hip hop, drum n bass, turntablism, then... well, you got your work cut out for you. Start by looking at other DJs routines, you can find some decent stuff out on youtube.

It's a long road to getting anywhere with it, but it sure as hell is a fun and rewarding hobby even if you don't become the next big thing.

Good luck, hope this helps.

Last edited:
I have no knowledge of dj'ing so I'm a noob. What are the basics and what gear do I need as beginning dj? Thanx in advance!

Do you have a knowledge of what kind of music you want to play? That's the first thing that needs to be answered.

Do you have a knowledge of what kind of music you want to play? That's the first thing that needs to be answered.
Yes, really I want to play everything. In other words mainly hip hop, but also r&b, pop, electro, old school, funk, & disco. I want to mix everything together..

Yes, really I want to play everything. In other words mainly hip hop, but also r&b, pop, electro, old school, funk, & disco. I want to mix everything together..

I would recommend turntables (Technics 1200) and a two channel battle mixer (Rane ttm-56/57). You'll need to learn some basic scratches to go through the genres. You'll want a program like Serato or Traktor.