How do I get good soundfiles?

shono

I am new to producing, if you can even call it that. I literally just begun and got the fl studio demo, etc. One thing I am utmost unfamiliar is with how do I go about getting good soundtextures? I am certain I won't be getting them from the base (the sounds fl studio comes with) sounds? I tried to make melodies with basic piano notes, and beats etc, but it sounded extremely clunky. The types of sounds I am comparing to are such like ones tiesto used to make elements of life, with the base melody. <Did he get that from having a good soundbank, or is it more because of how he sequenced/phrased the notes?

So, if it is largely due to the soundbank, do I need to download a good VST (i'm not entirely sure if i got the name right or not), and if so what is one that is good, one that is widely used/regarded of, maybe used by pros etc?

Thank you very very very very much, I love music and would appreciate help EXTREMELY!
thanks!

:cheers::hello::cool:

Last edited:
I don’t know the specifics of Tiesto’s sound but good sounds will generally come from either making them or buying them. There is good free stuff of course but you’ll have to dig for it.

Making them comes by sampling, recording, synthesising or processing, or a combination of which. Buying them will come by way of an instrument that has good sounds built in (such as a VST instrument), or sample packs that you then play through a sampler or other playback device.

Quality music is often due to how it’s composed and mixed as well as to the initial sounds that were used.

Go window shopping at the different sounds that are out there, there are loads that are excellent. Nearly all will have demos of the sound. Remember to listen on the best playback device you have so your judgement can be more informed.

glhf