Do you guys buy music to use?

DjInTraining

Hey guys, first post here :)

Basically, I'm pretty new to this dj lark, and at the moment I'm just playing around in Virtual Dj. I'm having a lot of fun making mixes, just experimenting to find out what I would like mixing the most. Anyway, onto my question...

Do all you dj's out there buy music? I know the answer should be 'of course' but music can be so expensive these days. I normally buy off itunes, but since becoming interested in dj'ing I've found sites like Beatport and Dj Tunes etc. I've found so much amazing music, but my question is, do I just suck it up and pay the prices?

I thought iTunes was pricey at 99p a track, but then I go to Beatport and it ranges from £1.12 a track to £1.73 a track! Of course the tracks are longer, and it depends how new it is and all, but my point is they are pretty expensive. I read somewhere that Dj tunes was supposedly cheaper, but on the whole it often seems more expensive to me?

Dj tunes says the price 'includes tax'. What exactly does that mean?

To sum up then:

1) Is £1.12 from Beatport classed as a reasonable price?
2) What does it mean when it says 'includes tax' - I should know this but honestly, I don't ;)
3) Are there any sites you guys use that are cheaper?

Cheers for any replies and taking the time to read, peace.

Edit: Should say I want to buy music to support the artist and all, but also because I don't want crappy quality should I ever reach the stage of playing for people. Converting to mp3, to me, doesn't have the same high quality a lot of the time. Maybe I'm wrong, but I'd like to buy it legally either way.

Last edited:
I shop alot with Beatport for electronic music. For the most part I just suck it up to show support.

I shop alot with Beatport for electronic music. For the most part I just suck it up to show support.

Cheers for the reply :)