Controllers vs 2 Turntables and a Mixer

1stlineofdfense

Hello guys,

Im a newbie, thinking about getting one of those Vestax DJ controllers with the two turntables and mixer built in one but everywhere I look, people are using two turntables...Am I just being lazy?

I hear that the controllers are not good for scratching, is there one that is actually good for scratching if I were to get a club gig?

I'm sure you can do simple scratches, but I can already see some basic problems that will occur.

One of the first problems that comes into play is not having a spinning platter. You can't mark where the sound starts. On a record, if the sound starts at 12 and ends at 3, you have that duration of sound to use and you know where to pull back to. I'm also assuming that those fader are cheap too. Scratches and twiddles are going to be even harder to learn, being that the spring motion that the fader makes after it pushes off the thumb won't be as smooth as it would be on a Rane mixer.

Then there's beat juggling, how you gonna do it if the platters don't spin?

I'm not sure where you, but the DMC regionals are coming up. Go check that out and see what they're doing. Then think to yourself if that can be done on a controller.

it depends on your skill level, i used the vestax vci-300 and was scratching like a champ with it. i have the numark ns7 as well and the platters are motorized so they move like vynil. any dj that says controllers arent good are afraid of new technology and will soon be left behind. i stick to using a controller and serato to prove it can be done. and i have gigs every weekend. i stay booked up without even looking for gigs any more. oh and for the record dj's used both the vestax vci-300 and numark ns7 at DMC youtube it.