Confused about audio interfaces

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goute

I'm a complete beginner on the subject, and can't seem to find answers so here I am! I'ts about audio interfaces in general, but focussed on the Saffire Pro 14.

I read a lot of good reviews about the Focusrite Saffire Pro 14 and it lies within my budget (<€200).The specs:

"Firewire Audio-Interface with 8 In- and 6 outputs and two Focusrite Preamps as well.
The Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 is an 8 in / 6 out FireWire audio interface designed for the modern home studio environment. An unparalleled preamp legacy forms the foundation, with two award-winning Focusrite preamps. Legendary sonic performance and both digital and analogue I/O combine with Focusrite´s established MixControl software to deliver seamless integration, excellent routing flexibility and rock-solid driver stability.
Features:
Two HQ Mic Pre Amps by Focusrite Low latency JetPLL Jitter-Elimination-Technology 4 analogue inputs, balanced Mic/Line/Instrument, 1/4" TRS & XLR, 24Bit/96kHz 4 analogue outpus, balanced, 1/4" TRS, 24Bit/96kHz S/PDIF In-&Output, coaxial, 24Bit/96kHz (I/O 5+6) Software Loop-Back input at driver-level MIDI I/O Saffire-MixControl: DSP-Mixer/-Router Focusrite VST/AU plug-in suite and Xcite+ software bundle"

It's all pretty confusing to me...
- Pre-amps --> What are they for?
- These analogue inputs; can you use those for.. let's say an old moog prodigy, or a newer nord lead?
- The anlogue outputs, what could you use them for?
- When using the analogue input you can only record the audio going in. You can't play with midi notes in your DAW, right?

Might be silly questions, but I can't find answers to them anywhere...

Thanks for taking the time to help me out!
Goute​

P.s. If you know of a good article or video tutorial on this topic, please shoot!

It's all pretty confusing to me...
- Pre-amps --> What are they for?