COMPOSERs, PUBLISHERs, and PROs - Oh My!

liftedCREATION

liftedCREATION
Dear Future Producers,

I write this post for NEW independent musicians like myself. I have worked so hard to get to this point, and sadly. It's only the starting line. What? The "starting line". It's true, last year I was a non-PRO affiliated composer (stop laughing) and I spent MANY hours working, very hard just like my fellow hobbyists and amateur musicians. Thinking, this is the way to success. It isn't. Listen if you are making music, and you want to sell it. There is a way. And I believe I have found where to START. Read on.

So here goes, I want to share my experience with becoming affiliated with a PRO. In my case the ASCAP. In the following posts I will present you with thoughts and ideas that are, I know, IMPORTANT to UNDERSTAND. If your NEW to the music business. You need this NOWledge. <- That's on purpose.

The very first thing you should do. Before you even think about selling music, is become affiliated with a PRO. The reason behind this is, PROs pay royalties to you. If you haven't done this. Then they don't know who to pay. It's not hard to register, but it does cost money. But before you run over there and register, they expect you to be a selling artist. They don't accept EVERYONE. You have to have sold something, or prove you have a "work for hire" that needs royalties tracked. Otherwise, why sign up right?

So, you've sold a few non-PRO tracks, GREAT! There you go. Now it's time to rush over to the PROs and register! Don't believe me? Read on.

I am going to split this post up. It's long. It's the most I ever gave back. It's my way of saying, "Here is the rope, now climb." If you don't feel like climbing. Fine by me, I'll be at the top. And by "climbing" I mean, hard work, dedication, education and self perseverance. NOT making music.

More to come.