Complaints about the motif XS sounds. Your thought?

Reamodic

Hey guys,

So i have a Motif XS and its sole purpose is for my rap/hip hop production. I am trying to decide if i should get rid of it and switch to all software, or keep it, or buy a fantom or something.

This is a little bit of a rant, but i would like some opinions as well too.

Let me first say that i am no expert, but i know what sounds good and what doesn't. My main concern is that some of the motif sounds sound to 'real" sometimes. I know that sounds dumb, but most hip hop doesn't have a full orchestra brass ensemble if you get what i mean. It has that dirty south 'fakeish" horn sound. Maybe its 100% me and I'm not using the sounds correctly or mixing correctly and thats what I'm trying to figure out.

these are two of my main concerns....

1. I think the piano sounds on the Motif XS are terrible. Period. Which sucks cause after its all said and done....its a piano hahaha

2. I feel like it isnt really created to make hip hop/rap (which i know it wasnt) A large majority of the sounds are kind of cheesy for rap.

What do you guys think about the motif?

If i were to switch to software how would i go about deciding what programs i want?

I have a XS6, I think you are full of it. I also have a Fantom Rack. The motif has high quality sounds and you should learn how to use it or sell it, but the problem is not the board, it's you.

Im not trying to argue at all or say that the Motif is a terrible machine thats why i said, it may be me and my mixing that is the problem. Im just trying to figure stuff out. Could i hear some stuff you did with the Motif sounds?

I have a XS6, I think you are full of it. I also have a Fantom Rack. The motif has high quality sounds and you should learn how to use it or sell it, but the problem is not the board, it's you.
agreed. The motif is probably the best music workstation on the market. Its not the machine its you.