Best DAW for me?

pacific22

I am new to this. I don't want to create beats, I just want to make flawless mix cds of my music collection (house music mp3). I'm looking for:

1. timeline view (no turntable views)
2. easy warping

I've worked with Mixmeister and the timeline is really easy to use, but the whole warping thing sucks in Mixmeister.

Is FL Studio easy to warp tracks? I like the looks of Studio One but don't think it has a warping feature. I tried to use the Ableton Live demo, but the warping part was confusing.

I don't need most features of DAWs, but the warping part seems to be crucial to make good mix cds. And i have so much music, it will take a long time to warp everything. So, I'm looking for the easiest warping DAW. Thanks

Last edited:
juz give em all a shot....as far as warping goes....that sounds like more of a plugin or automation thing

You need to give Ableton another try. It's the best program for making mp3 mixes.

Try them out and see which you like best. I'm partial to Reaper, but started with FL Studio.

By warping.. do you mean stretching and condensing a song to speed it up or slow it down?

Studio One does this. You can even stretch without changing pitch if I'm not mistaken. I don't do it much, but I'm pretty sure it does.

ableton basically started out as this kind of program, and is still one of the best around imo. Alot of the time (especially for easily detectable bpm-music as house) you dont even have to warp songs manually.

By warping.. do you mean stretching and condensing a song to speed it up or slow it down?

Studio One does this. You can even stretch without changing pitch if I'm not mistaken. I don't do it much, but I'm pretty sure it does.