Akai MPK49 and Reason please read!

You can use Vyzex to save your presets and load 'em [The software that comes with the mpk49]. Just reloaded the default presets after messing around. I've pretty much mastered most of the mpk49. I just have to develop a better technique.

Hey all... this thread is very useful (just got my mpk a few days ago). I'm brand new to this game, but I'm finding myself working through the basics slowly but surely.

My mpk can with 1.03 pre-installed, so I didn't have to worry about a firmware upgrade. I also have Reason 4 update that auto-detects the keyboard. I'm finding the Reason preset on the mpk very useful for a beginner such as myself.

Quick question though- what is the keyboard's Reason preset assignment for navigating up and down the rack? The MPK manual states "Program Change"... does "Program Change" refer to what I'm talking about? Or does it mean going from Reason to another app like Logic?

If I have to manually assign this command, what is the Control #? I printed out the Reason 4 MIDI Controller Chart and I'm fairly certain (with my amateur knowledge of MIDI) that this only lists parameter edits within a specific device.

Thanks all!

Last edited:
I don't use reason as my main software so i"m not familiar with the key commands, but program change should change betweem nn-xt, thor, etc. I could be wrong but that it was it sounds like.

confused

i did everything here right for the mac but it still says it is not cannot find a device when i hit auto-detect. help!!! im trying to sync up my record button and tap tempo with reason 4.0. thanks

Update Your Reason 4. The reason 4 Update supports the MPK49 and MPD32 and will auto-detect. Easy Fix.

Waddup fam,
1st of all i just wanted to say thx for this post alone!!!!
i have been searching and serch'n for help with setup and this place has more Q&A than anyplace 4real.
Can someone help with setting up mpk with Fl studio
thx:)