Advice on moving to new york...

brodel34

I'm getting ready to move to new York... I've never been there (yeah yeah) and I'm trying to figure out which borough I want to stay in. I will be transferring through my job, but I have to figure out which borough to try and transfer to. Im a producer, so that will factor in.

Just visited New York a couple days ago. Midtown Manhattan is cool but also very busy. If I was moving, I'd probably move to Brooklyn though.

Where exactly in New York is your new job located at? Where are you coming from (big city, small town, rural, suburban, etc) and what kind of setting are you interested in? What kind of budget are you working with as far as rent/food/transport/misc?

Where exactly in New York is your new job located at? Where are you coming from (big city, small town, rural, suburban, etc) and what kind of setting are you interested in? What kind of budget are you working with as far as rent/food/transport/misc?

exactly what i thought

Like I said I have to decide what borough to work on. The setting I'm interested in is music.

I am from NY. I would say if you have the money, move to Manhattan. If not Long Island is another option, and it has a pretty decent music scene.

Like I said I have to decide what borough to work on. The setting I'm interested in is music.

If you're interested in music in terms of working with those in the major label system then Manhattan will be your borough simply because all the label main offices are there, specifically midtown/time square vicinity. Most of the clubs, networking spots, studios (well not in recent years lol) are all in the same area

If you're interested in music in terms of music scene then it depends on what kind of music

Manhattan is beautiful though. I like the little food carts on the streets. What's up with your McDonalds staff though, New Yorkers? Not very customer friendly IMO LOL.