4+ Years Could Be Potentially Ruined

Status
Not open for further replies.

cranberryice

Need your opinion on something. I'm a 19 year old EDM (house and trap) producer, been producing for around 6 months. Gained a fair amount of popularity in my town. Enough popularity to score my first gig, a concert in front of the university I'll be attending in 4 days. The gig is September 10th. They're giving me an hour set before a rapper. Problem is, I have little actual DJ experience. I have a fair amount of knowledge though.

I need your opinion though. Considering it's my first time performing, time needs to be spent on stage presence, and if I screw this up it will ruin the next 4+ years of my life at college, which is my best option?

1) Learn to DJ live with Traktor Pro 2 program (apparently warps tracks correctly 95% of the time)
2) Take the time to warp all of my tracks and DJ live with Ableton Live
3) Make a pre-recorded mix in Ableton and go on stage and press play so it's guaranteed that I don't **** something up, and also be able to focus on my stage presence more
4)Make a pre-recorded mix in Ableton and import it into the Traktor program and go on stage and press play so it's guaranteed that I don't **** something up, and also be able to focus on my stage presence more

Thanks

5D9EED88-267C-458B-B1EE-2009EDCF678C-10672-0000054CF92F57DD.jpg

Last edited:
OK let's check I understood correctly: You signed up for a DJ gig where you are to spin music other that yours without having practiced the skill at all eventhough you seem to have the necessary gear?

Abandon options 3 & 4 if you hope that this results in more future gigs. Both programs should be able to do the job for you, but why would you not go with Traktor if you own the gear? And just for possible future gigs, try to learn to beat mix without the program adjusting the tempo automatically.