What theory do I need?

SweHockey

I'm pretty new to this, and I thought I'd learn some basic music theory which is useful for making electronic musik (house etc.).

I think the most important questions I need to be able to answer is:
What chords fit together?
Which notes can I use to make a melody when I have a chord progression?
Which chords can I put over a melody?

So I guess I'm looking for a pretty basic guide or something. I don't want to be overwhelmed with theory that I get no use of.

All i'm going to say is that you should read a theory manual to figure these things out.
A lot of this comes with knowledge & Trial/ Error.
If someone wants to sit here for an hour and tell you what chords to put over a melody, what chords fit together etc etc then thats there business. From my expeirence the best way to learn these things is too do it yourself as no one is going to hold your hand through the process (unless you purchase piano lessons)

Piano For Dummies & The complete idiots guide to music theory should help you out in both of these areas.

Bandcoach is a experienced member here. He has some really useful tutorials for learning music theory.

Band Coach - Philosophies in teaching, composition and life in general

^^^ CHECK IT OUT ^^^^

As far as what to learn in terms of music theory, the answer is simple just keep asking yourself the right questions and you will eventually learn what you wanted to know. Theory can be quite overbearing if you let it be, it can also open your music too new vistas and plateaus. The real trick is always listening to music you want to know more about, meaning, what makes these drums sound so good? why does this bassline work over these chords? How come these chords work so well together? Keep asking questions and you will find what you are looking for.