Best ways to master

matthewm77

I'm trying to master my track and I've never done it before, I don't have any special plugins for mastering, just the stuff that comes with FL Studio. Where should I start, I've watched some youtube tutorials but I can't tell which ones are reliable since they all do it differently, I used a maximizer and gave it some gain, but thats it so far.

Best way to master a track is to send it to a mastering engineer.
What you can do yourself early on is tossing a brick wall limiter for entering the loudness war (google this).

But the best thing you can do for your own mix is to mix it properly. Pull down all those faders and start by dragging the kick up till approx -15db and then balance the mix around that. Should give you an overall mix around -6db on the master fader.

That is a good start for either sending it to someone that can master it or to toss some "mastering plugs" on it yourself.

What I would do is to get the money to actually pay a decent (not too expensive) mastering engineer to master your final -6db mix and ask if you can be there when he masters it and to tell you what he does. Be prepared to pay him a lil extra for you sitting there asking some questions.

THAT way, you will learn more than a year on this forum can teach you. And that in 60 minutes.

Best of luck.

PS! If you want, send me the file and I can show you what I can do with it in a 5 min attempt. If you like it I can tell you what I did.

Last edited:
Best way to master a track is to send it to a mastering engineer.
What you can do yourself early on is tossing a brick wall limiter for entering the loudness war (google this).

But the best thing you can do for your own mix is to mix it properly. Pull down all those faders and start by dragging the kick up till approx -15db and then balance the mix around that. Should give you an overall mix around -6db on the master fader.