Can I play 128 kbps mp3 as a DJ?

kmano

So by being lucky recently I got a chance to play my first live set. I wrote a guy who is organizing an fashion event and he let me to play at after party gig. There will be some well-known rappers playing there so I hope to get some contacts and play them my beats, since I am mainly a producer. But coming back to the question - will the quality be good enough for me to play just 128 kbps tracks? I am totally new to DJing and playing live so due to fact that I can't afford buying all the songs I want to play, to build a good trap set unfortunately I have to download some songs off soundcloud.. and as we know they always come with just 128 kbps quality. How do You think - can my set still sound good withouth 320 kbps mp3's? I want to make the best impression that I can so I want to be prepared as much as I can. Will appreaciate all the opinions from You guys!

And one more thing - obviously I will play for free since it's my chance to perform for the first time and maybe get some more gigs in the future. I won't take any money for it and Im definitely not one of those guys who wants to get songs for free and then charge money for the show. I just want to make a good impression and my set to sound good. I have no experience in that field so that's why Im asking!

ALSO I did http://mp3ornot.com/index.php that test recently and I think it's not so easy to recognize a difference between those two for a typical listener. What y'all think about that? Differences are so small that it might be hard to recognize that I just played a 128 kbps set, right?

And for all the people asking why is it so hard to pay for songs - I live in Poland and while in US one song is 1.99 USD here in Poland You gotta multiply it times 4 cause 1 ZŁ = 3 $. So one song for me is 3 times more expensive than for majority of countries with euro or dollar.

Last edited: