The True "State of the Art"

lol it sounds like he's saying, "dude just get a regular job and be happy". i've been hearing the music business is dried up and dead since the early 2000s and yet here we are. you remember those campaigns. one in particual that still resonates to this day. "music is dead". shut up lol. record labels are still here. radio stations are still here. big name artists are still using the exact same avenues they've always used. music festivals? forget about iiit lol. i know its different for them since they're well known but come on. sometimes i feel as if articles like this are created to scare us off so that we don't infringe on the success of current acts out there. just a thought.

You missed the point again...

Yes, everything's pretty much the same as it ever was, except in the instances where/when it's worse; this after all of the hype and the digital bill of goods we were sold. The argument in the article is against those same purveyors of "music should be free" nonsense that are always
trying to squeeze the musicians (and that you actually posted about here)... Meet the new boss, same as the old boss in the shiny Internet age.

GJ

and even trickier to nail down too boot (the new boss) as they can have an internet presence but no physical actuality - i.e. a pseudonym and paypal account is all that is needed to profit in this form...

The music industry is better than ever!

I see no problems, I only see change. Once things come to a new equilibrium, there will be a huge and long growth period, Musicians have to weather the storm.

The digital landscape has barely been tapped. I am certainly not complaining. I am thankful and grateful to be able to participate in today's music industry.

The glory days of yesteryear are gone. The glory days of the digital age are yet to come. There is no need to blame the technology. Embrace today's tools and innovating is what will bear the fruits.