Can learning piano make you that much greater

D major

I know there are great producers who have no training and there are alot who do,but can it make that much of a difference in some one with potential.The reason why I'm on this topic is becausei am recording a friend who says I'm a good producer but today we were listening to other local producers and he was feeling them and that made me feel like(then why am I recording you for free).okay I'd admit iwas jealous cause they were good beats and know I'm firered up about being the best I can be and willing to go threw whatever to make me that much better.

If you got potential, you got potential...You still dont have the skill...Even if you are musical you need to study, practice and perfect your craft. And yes, being able to play will make a HUGE difference...

I have been taking learn and master piano DVD class and I must admit I made a few songs I would have never thought of if it wasn't for those few lessons.But not sure if just these DVDs will take me to such an advanced level were I wanna be and it's got me thinking if I should get a one on one teacher.The only thing I have and issue with learing piano is reading sheet music.I really don't know if this is needed if I'm wanting to play my own music and not someone elses.But I also think it may help in giving me ideas of progressions and combinations of chords when playing other songs, but that's just my theory I still don't know if sight reading is important for just a home studio producer.

I would not learn to sight read....It takes up waaaaay to much time, and will take years before you even start to get a feeling of it. Plus there is so much more to study. Just study music theory and harmony..IMO

A one-on-one tutor would be quite beneficial. I think learning to read music will make things a lot easier in the future. Also, if you're going to learn theory (which is a MUST) you will have to learn to read music anyway.