Syncing ASR-10 with ProTools (8) (MIDI)

drunkmonkey5556

hey
i just got Pro Tools 8, and I am new to both PT and the ASR, and I am trying to sync them up so that I can record out of the ASR into ProTools with a midi beat clock so that everything is all linked up correctly and i don't have to align my tracks. as you can probably tell i dont know much about it, so a step by step would be appreciated.

i'm thinking i'd use pro tools as the master. but what do i need to do both in ProTools and on the ASR to have them communicate? and then how do i actually do it?

THANKS

michael

---------- Post added 07-05-2010 at 12:19 PM ---------- Previous post was 07-04-2010 at 11:14 AM ----------

bump!!! please help if you can.. i'm not able to work on my music until i have this figured out
thanks

there aint nothin u can do. its an issue pro tools and the asr 10 have had for years. Lots of people have had this issue

there aint nothin u can do. its an issue pro tools and the asr 10 have had for years. Lots of people have had this issue

Just out of curiosity... What is the issue? I was always interested in an ASR. Would have been disappointed to find out that I couldn't sync it with Pro Tools after buying one.

Just out of curiosity... What is the issue? I was always interested in an ASR. Would have been disappointed to find out that I couldn't sync it with Pro Tools after buying one.

don't worry, he's wrong. its very commonly done, by many established producers. im on the MPC forums and there's an ASR-10 thread and they all link theirs with Pro Tools, but they won't tell me how they just tell me to read the manual.. so to anyone just tuning in, check my original post please and thanks