Starter, need guidance

tehuku

Hi, FP !

I'm 18 year old multi-instrumentalist and songwriter, who just got into music production.
I need some help. I don't exactly know how to approach music production. Main things I want to study are mixing and mastering.
I have very little experience with recording and mixing instruments (Using Garageband, hope to get Logic soon) and I've understood that if I don't have proper room and mics, theres not much to do. So I'll focus on mixing and mastering electronic music. Have messed with FL studio for few days.

So how do I start? I'm gonna read all the books and materials I can get, obviously. Is remaking songs the way to go? I have lots of my own material written too. I would love to make pop music, something that Ryan Tedder does. (Beyonce, Ellie Goulding, Demi Levato, Onerepublic etc ) . How much is mixing electronic music different from mixing real instruments ?
Also, how long will it take if I practice 2-3 hours a day, to start sounding decent (radio-friendly) ? I hope to be able to release some of my own music in a year.

Another thing is that I probably need good instrument samples (Drums, Keyboards, Basses, Strings, Leads etc) for Logic and I got no clue whats is good and what isnt and where to get them. Or are Logic's samples good enough?

Think thats it.
Thanks !

Last edited:
Sounds can be transformed.mixin and mastering can be done so many ways.use an equalizer to remove excess stuff you dont want in each sound for that song at the moment.

compressors in my opinion should only be used if notes c4-c6 become louder than the lower half.All of them drums come from drum modules, digital or physically.

there is no guaranteed time signature for improvement.35gb of free soundfonts.90+ gb of drums at freedrumkits.net

I would love to make pop music, something that Ryan Tedder does. (Beyonce, Ellie Goulding, Demi Levato, Onerepublic etc ) . How much is mixing electronic music different from mixing real instruments ?