Sound Card and Audio Interface

UnkNowNGenius

Soon I'll be making up my own lil' studio, things I'll have is A PC with a DAW haven't decided which one yet, I want to test all the demos first.

A Midi keyboard, probably keystation, M-audio.

Yamaha HS50m or Yamaha HS80M or maybe KRK one of them.

That's all I've decided to get, I've forgot sound card and Audio Interface. Now thats the prob, I know nothing about them, I MEAN NOTHING.

Can anyone suggest what Sound Card I should get? and what Audio Interface? I WILL NOT be recording guitar or anything like that in my own lil studio, if I do i'll do it in another studio, but I dont think I'll record guitar yet because im a total newbie at it.

So what sound card and audio interface should I get?

Soundcard, audio interface - same thing, different names. You won't be needing two.

Are you sure you're never gonna want to record *anything* or use outboard processing? I'd hate to have that option totally closed off, but to each his own (fortunately interfaces without any kind of inputs are pretty rare ;)). I'd probably look at Focusrites Saffire/Scarlett series, MOTU's Blackjack, RME's Babyface, and maybe the M-Audio & Presonus stuff if you're on a strict budget.

Well okay, I wouldnt say never, but as you said forunately interfaces without any kind of inputs are pretty rare.

I would rather buy a DECENT one later when I get more cash, right now I just need a normal one.

Thanks for explaining that soundcard and audio inteface is the same thing haha.

I thought there were only internal soundcards inside of the comp? and an audio interface was a thing like this Resultat av Googles bildsökning efter http://static.clickbd.com/global/classified/item_img/393754_0_original.jpg

But y'all seem to recommend an external soundcard aka Audio Inteface, so Ill go with it.