Right of passage Samples

chefboyali

Waddup FP nation, I need some help from some of the more seasoned beat makers over here. I'm new to this producing shit and I got some serious newbie frustration going on. I tend to get overwhelmed by most samples, what I need is some samples with training wheels so the speak. Basically samples that are "easy" to flip. I heard Italian soundtracks are a good place to start. I would appreciate if someone could link some samples that are newbie proof, something I could use to get started with. What did you guys start with?

What's easy is subjective as people tend to like different type of samples and it also depends on the preferred techniques. I would say that the https://www.futureproducers.com/for...ques/flip/fp-flip-beat-battle-vol-3-a-472014/ sample number two's intro is rather easy to get into as it is solo piano that is being played in a way that makes chopping it into cohesive bits easy..

But in general I would say just flip samples that seem dope to you and you will eventually find the ways you prefer working with while honing your skills. I think I started mainly by sampling soul and funk, usually intros. But that was mostly because it was my first focus on buying records (and still is one of my record collecting focuses) before I started expanding to other stuff.

i agree with jyri, just sample what sounds dope to you. in the beginning i'ts all about try & error.. and suddenly something dope comes out.
if you really have no clue look on whosampled.com what samples your favorite artists used. try to remake the beat just for practice or use the samples to make a beat that sounds even doper to you.

Don't waste your time trying to use a sample thats been used a million times or remaking beats by another producer.Basically,stay away from whosampled and look into instrumental tracks like