Producers: Having signature sound vs NOT having it

Gluee

What's up?
I know this might spark a lot of debate but debate is always good, huh?

As a producer myself, lately i've been studying different producers signature sounds and i came to a conclusion that having your own distinct signature sound makes your career lose it's longevity.

Think of few producer with their own really disctinct signature sound for exmaple Scott Storch or Lex Luger. These guys made some great hits and basically took industry by a storm but now, nobody's really going for that sound (let's be real, Lex Luger's sound is kinda falling off now). Whether on the other hand producers like Just Blaze or Kanye don't really have their signature sound and are constantly in demand considering they have been in the business since early 2000s.

You might disagree with me on Kanye example but let's be real here, apart from high pitched sampes you can't really tell whether it's Kanye beat or not (for example Common's albums). Same goes to Just Blaze but these are just 2 examples i chose.

You might even throw in Timbo here as best of both worlds (longevity and signature sound) but he basically re-invents himself every 6-7 years.

So is really not having your own signature sound means longer career?
Let's also not forgot that not having your signature sound doesn't mean you're a bad producer all of a sudden.

At the end of the day - i might be DEAD WRONG here and i really want to hear your thoughts on this topic.

Last edited:
Producer's should strive to have both. If you can compose and craft productions that resonate well with people(preferably a large audience) then stick with the formula. Your side hustle should be working with an "out the box" artist in another genre on your own private subsidiary label so that you can grow without alienating your core fan-base.

Rami Yacub's signature sound is CHA-CHING! Dude has a "signature brand".