newbie rapping help

R

rurokenji

hi guys,

I have recently been listening to rap properly and i want to strat making my own raps and stuff. I have some knowledge of techniques and stuff such as slant rhymes, pronouncing a word in the same sort of emphasis as the word before in order to create a sort of rhyme, that thing where (with you rhyme like 3 or 4 words out of one word in a previous line (can't remember the name of the technique). Anyways, i have got a few questions to ask

I will be using nas - state of mind as an example.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKjj4hk0pV4

This may sound like a newb question but it is something that has been bugging me for some time, now. I believe it is something to do with flow. With every line in rap, are you meant to carry out a new flow with the way the sentence is bought out. For example, 0.46 - 0.50, he goes
Or either on the corner betting Grants with the cee-lo champs (with a different type of flow/saying the sentence compared to the previous line)
and then the next sentence -Laughing at baseheads tryna sell some broken amps (also with a different type of flow/way of saying the sentence compared tto the previous line but still keeping the rhyme between amps and champs). Is this a normal thing? I ask this because i have noticed that this is quite common in rap. It's kinda hard to explain via txt.. I know i am prob sound like a newb.

I understand that there is no general rule in rap but it's good to have some basis.

Also, with rapping sentences/verses, how many words need to be used in a line, in order to sound like you are actually rapping? Or is it the flow that gives the illusion of the rapping flow and not the actual amount of words used in a line? I mean, i have heard raps where they use like 3 or 4 words in a line and just go with that. I need to understand the whole timing and 16 bars concept, i keep hearing people go on about.