Need pointed in the right direction

wilson.1

Okay, long story short.

I've been into music for as long as I can remember and have always been fascinated with production and how music is made. I've been trying on and off for the past 5-6 years and gotten nowhere. I've came to a point where I feel like I should just give up but being only 24 it is still something I would really like to do.

I'm going to try and explain what I feel is the problem and hopefully some very nice people can point me in the right direction.

I would say im a beginner with intermediate knowledge, I've been learning for years but done absolutely nothing with all this knowledge. Now when I open up my DAW (FL Studio) and have a blank canvas in front of me I just don't know where to start, it's not so much that I don't know how, just that nothing comes to me. I would say im comfortable laying down drums, claps, hats etc, what I would call the backbone of the track. Where I hit a brick wall is the melody's, chords, pads and things along those lines. I'm happy tweaking synths for the perfect sound, getting the levels of a bass right, and tweaking things until they sound right but when it comes to using the piano roll I just can't seem to make a melody or anything. Now I'll be honest here, I haven't learnt any music theory which I know in this situation would definitely help and I will be looking into it but im not tone def and everything I put into it just sounds all over the place. I could have the perfect sound from my synth but I can't do anything with it. I've looked at other peoples midi files and tried looking at how they arrange them but that doesn't seem to help. I will also add that I don't have a midi keyboard, it's all point and click which isn't giving me the chance to quickly try and play something before laying it down which again I know would help. All I seem to be doing lately Is opening up FL Studio, chucking in a bass, kick etc, then I get to the piano roll and nothing, so I clo